Lifetime Achievement Award Honorees

John “Jack” F. Harkness

2018 Lifetime Achievement Honoree

The Florida Supreme Court Historical Society was pleased to honor John “Jack” F. Harkness, Jr., Executive Director of the Florida Bar for past 37 years with the Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2018 Supreme Evening the Society's annual dinner event on January 23, 2018 at the University Center Club in Tallahassee.

The award was presented to him by Historical Society Trustee, Leonard Gilbert, past president of The Florida Bar, who presided when Mr. Harkness was hired to be the executive director in the early 1980s.

Mr. Harkness was recognized for his decades of dedication to Florida’s court system, the state’s legal community and his unwavering support for the preservation of Florida’s Supreme Court history.

Janet Reno

2017 Lifetime Achievement Honoree

The Florida Supreme Court Historical Society posthumously honored Janet Reno with its Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2017 Supreme Evening  the Society's annual dinner event.

Janet Reno was a warrior for justice and inspired innovator. She served as a role model and mentor to anyone with whom she dealt.

She was genuine, extraordinarily wise, and loved everyone -- above all our children. Few have blessed this nation, and those in public service, with a greater legacy of commitment to integrity and appreciation for America’s magnificent resources.

She was a valued member of this Historical Society for many years. Ms. Reno's Sister, Maggy Hurchalla, accepted the award on her behalf.

Talbot 'Sandy' D'Alemberte

Presented at 2015 Annual Dinner

Presented in recognition of his highly distinguished career as a lawyer, his contributions to the Florida judiciary and to this Society as a Trustee member for over 25 years and his service as its president, and by unanimous vote of the Florida Supreme Court Historical Society Board of Trustees.

A former President of the Florida Supreme Court Historical Society (1990-1991) and the former President of the American Bar Association (1991-92), Talbot ("Sandy") D'Alemberte served as Dean of Florida State University College of Law from 1984 to 1989 and was appointed president of Florida State University in 1993, serving in that capacity through January 2003.       

more v v v

The 2015 Florida Supreme Court Historical Society's Lifetime Achievement Award to be presented to   

Talbot “Sandy”  D’Alemberte

2014 Lifetime Achievement Award Honoree

Presented at 2014 Annual Dinner

Judge Rosemary Barkett


Rosemary Barkett the 71st justice of the Florida Supreme Court was the first woman to serve on the court and the first female chief justice. In September of 2013 she was appointed as a U.S. member of the Iran-United States Claims Tribunal in The Hague, prior to her World Court appointment she served on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit, an appointment she held since 1994.          

more v v v

Previous Honorees of the Florida Supreme Court Historical Society Lifetime Achievement Award

2013 Honorees

Rubin Askew

Reubin O’Donvan Askew

Reece Smith

William Reece Smith, Jr

2012 Honoree

Dexter Dougless

W. Dexter Douglass

2010 Honorees

Robert Evin

Robert M. Ervin

Mark Hulsey

Mark Hulsey

2009 Honoree

Russell Troutman

H. Russell Troutman

Sign up for news and updates

Click Here

(c) 2024     Florida Supreme Court Historical Society

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software